The 5th International Conference on Activity and Behavior Computing September 7th - 9th, 2023, Kaiserslautern, Germany (Hybrid)

Paper deadline: June 1st, 2023

Welcome to ABC2023!

Human Activity Recognition has been researched in thousands of papers so far, with mobile / environmental sensors in ubiquitous / pervasive domains, and with cameras in vision domains. As well, Human Behavior Analysis is also explored for long-term health care, rehabilitation, emotion recognition, human interaction, and so on. However, many research challenges remain for realistic settings, such as complex and ambiguous activities / behavior, optimal sensor combinations, (deep) machine learning, data collection, platform systems, and killer applications.

In this conference, we comprehend such research domains as ABC: Activity and Behavior Computing, and provide an open and a confluent place for discussing various aspects and the future of the ABC.

Call for Papers


  • Mobile sensor-based ABC
  • Environmental sensor-based ABC
  • Vision-based ABC
  • Multimodal ABC
  • Physical / semantic analysis of ABC
  • Gait analysis
  • Sleep analysis
  • Emotion recognition / analysis
  • ABC with deep learning
  • ABC data mining
  • Data collection
  • ABC systems
  • Interactive ABC
  • Healthcare applications
  • Sports applications
  • Business applications
  • Tools for industry
  • ABC in the wild


  • Regular papers: full technical contents which describe the accuracy and performance of ABC Systems, real deployment cases or application of new paradigms such as deep learning to ABC.
  • Survey papers: new perspective or new challenges in ABC based on literature survey. We do not welcome just compilations of existing research, but do if it provides new research horizons.
  • Position papers: describe the challenges and future directions of ABC based on problems that arise when systems are deployed in real settings.
  • Parkinson Challenge papers: We will provide a dataset and accept results for the wearing-off recognition challenge with papers describing the methods and the results. Please see the Challenge Site for details.
  • Heatstroke Prevention Challenge papers: We will provide a dataset and accept results for the Heatstroke Prevention challenge with papers describing the methods and the results. Please see the Challenge Site for details.
  • The 1st International Workshop (BTIW2023) will be held at ABC2023. For more information, please visit the SIG-BTI Site.

Special Sessions

Please select the following subject area when submitting.

1) Activity Computing in Nursing and Elderly Care

Chair: Tomohiro Shibata, Kyushu Institute of Technology

2) Activity Recognition with Original Devices

Chair: Yu Enokibori, Nagoya University

3) Activity and Behavior Sensing Apps

Chair: Yuuki Nishiyama, University of Tokyo

4) Analysis / recognition of emotion, feeling, and sentiment

Chair: Mitsunori Mizumachi, Kyushu Institute of Technology

5) Activity Computing in Sports

Chair: Kazuya Murao, Ritsumeikan University

6) Activity and Behaviour Analysis with Head-worn Devices

Chair: Hristijan Gjoreski, Ss. Cyril and Methodius University, Macedonia


  • Please use the LaTeX template (button below for the LaTeX template).
  • Submit from Microsoft CMT service (button below) and select the ABC.
  • Note that the author information should be removed from the paper, for double blind reviews.

Important dates

[Regular/Survey/Position] Paper submission


June 1, 2023 (Extended)

Review result


June 29, 2023

Resubmission for conditionally accepted paper


July 20, 2023

[Challenge] Opens (Train Data shared with Tutorial)


May 4, 2023

[Challenge] Registration


June 15, 2023

[Challenge] Result submission


June 29, 2023

[Challenge] Paper submission


July 6, 2023

[Challenge] Review result


July 20, 2023

[Regular/Survey/Position/Challenge] Camera ready and Registration


August 3, 2023 (Anywhere on Earth)



September 7th - 9th, 2023


General Chairs

Sozo Inoue, Kyushu Institute of Technology / AUTOCARE LLC, Japan
Md Atiqur Rahman Ahad, University of East London, UK

Program Chairs

Stephan Sigg, Aalto University, Finland
Guillaume Lopez, Aoyama Gakuin University, Japan

Publication Chairs

Tahera Hossain, Aoyama Gakuin University, Japan
Shahera Hossain, University of Asia Pacific, Bangladesh
Sungho Suh, RPTU / DFKI, Germany

Organizating Chair

Vitor Fortes Rey, RPTU / DFKI, Germany

Advisory Board

Anind Dey, University of Washington, USA
Björn W. Schuller, Imperial College London, UK and University of Augsburg, Germany
Jeffry Cohn, University of Pittsburgh, USA
Kristof Van Laerhoven, University of Siegen, Germany
Michael Beigl, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Nobuo Kawaguchi, Nagoya University, Japan
Paul Lukowicz, RPTU / DFKI, Germany


Muhammad Fikry, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan
Haru Kaneko, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan

Program Committee

Abdullah Al Nahid, Khulna University, Bangladesh
Allam Shehata, Osaka University, Japan
Anja Exler, Adastra, Germany
Anna Yokokubo, Aoyama Gakuin University, Japan
Atsushi Nakazawa, Kyoto University, Japan
Atsushi Shimada, Kyushu University, Japan
Baharul Islam, American University of Malta, Malta
Christopher Nugent, Ulster University, UK
François Charpillet, INRIA, France
Hiroki Watanabe, Hokkaido University, Japan
John Noel Victorino, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan
Kaori Fujinami, Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology, Japan
Katsuhiko Kaji, Aichi Institute of Technology, Japan
Kazuya Murao, Ritsumeikan University, Japan
Liming Chen, Ulster University, UK
Moe Matsuki, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan
Nattaya Mairittha, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan
Pascal Hirmer, University of Stuttgart, Germany
Paula Lago, Concordia University, Canada
Ren Ohmura, Toyohashi University of Technology, Japan
Saeed Sharif, University of East London, UK
Seyed Ali Ghorashi, University of East London, UK
Shahera Hossain, University of Asia Pacific, Bangladesh
Shigeyuki Miyagi, The University of Shiga Prefecture, Japan
Shiqi Yu, SusTech, China
Swapnil Saha, University of California, Los Angeles, USA
Tahera Hossain, Aoyama Gakuin University, Japan
Takuro Yonezawa, Nagoya University, Japan
Takuya Maekawa, Osaka University, Japan
Tittaya Mairittha, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan
Yu Enokibori, Nagoya University, Japan
Yuuki Nishimura, University of Tokyo, Japan
Xia Quixin, Osaka University, Japan