International Conference on Activity and Behavior Computing May. 30 - Jun. 2, 2019, Spokane Campus, Eastern Washington University, USA In conjunction with ICIEV&IVPR2019

Pulbished proceedings are HERE!

Best Paper Award!

Mathias Ciliberto, Luis A Ponce Cuspinera and Daniel Roggen,

"WLCSSLearn: Learning Algorithm for Template Matching-based Gesture Recognition Systems"

Best Paper Runner-up

Nattaya Mairittha and Sozo Inoue,

"Crowdsourcing System Management for Activity Data with Mobile Sensors"

Welcome to ABC2019!

Human Activity Recognition has been researched in thousands of papers so far, with mobile / environmental sensors in ubiquitous / pervasive domains, and with cameras in vision domains. As well, Human Behavior Analysis is also explored for long-term health care, rehabilitation, emotion recognition, human interaction, and so on. However, many research challenges remain for realistic settings, such as complex and ambiguous activities / behavior, optimal sensor combinations, (deep) machine learning, data collection, platform systems, and killer applications.

In this conference, we comprehend such research domains as ABC: Activity and Behavior Computing, and provide an open and a confluent place for discussing various aspects and the future of the ABC.


You can see the full program from HERE.

Jun. 1st, 2019

Session 1, 8:50-10:10

Session 2, 10:20-11:40

Session 3, 13:30-14:50

Session 4, 15:20-17:00

Call for Papers

We welcome full technical papers, as well as concept papers related to ABC research. Technical papers describe the accuracy and performance of ABC Systems, real deployment cases or application of new paradigms such as deep learning to ABC. Concept papers describe the challenges and future directions of ABC based on problems that arise when systems are deployed in real settings.

The submitted papers are peer reviewed by experienced researchers, and accepted based on the research quality. To accept various research stages, an accepted paper can be either published in IEEE proceedings + USB, Open web + USB, or USB only upon authors' preference.


  • Mobile sensor-based ABC
  • Environmental sensor-based ABC
  • Vision-based ABC
  • Multimodal ABC
  • Physical / semantic analysis of ABC
  • Gait analysis
  • Sleep analysis
  • Emotion recognition / analysis
  • ABC with deep learning
  • ABC data mining
  • Data collection
  • ABC systems
  • Interactive ABC
  • Healthcare applications
  • Sports applications
  • Business applications
  • Tools for industry
  • ABC in the wild


  • IEEE conference format (button below).
  • 4-6 pages: The authors can choose to give copyright to IEEE then the paper will be sent to IEEE Xplore as ICIEV-IVPR 2019 proceedings.
  • 2-6 pages: The authors can choose not for IEEE and hence, copyright is not transfered.
  • Submit from Microsoft CMT for ICIEV2019 (button below) and select the ABC.

Important dates

Paper submission


Dec. 17, 2018 Jan. 15, 2019 (Anywhere on Earth)!

Review result


Jan. 31, 2019 Feb. 15, 2019

Camera ready


Feb. 12, 2019 Mar. 22, 2019



Apr. 26 - 29, 2019 May, 30 - Jun. 2, 2019


General Chairs

Sozo Inoue, Kyushu Institute of Technology / Riken, Japan

Atiqur Rahman Ahad, University of Dhaka, Bangladesh / Osaka University, Japan

Program Chairs

Ren Ohmura, Toyohashi University of Technology, Japan

Kazuya Murao, Ritsumeikan University, Japan

Publicity Chair

Paula Lago, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan

Publication Chair

Tsuyoshi Okita, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan

Advisory Board

Paul Lukowicz, DFKI, Germany

Kristof Van Laerhoven, University of Siegen, Germany

Daniel Roggen, University of Sussex, UK

Michael Beigl, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Jeffry Cohn, University of Pittsburgh, USA


Tahera Hossain, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan

Moe Matsuki, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan

Program Committee

Kristof Van Laerhoven, University of Siegen, Germany

Daniel Roggen, University of Sussex, UK

Susanna Pirttikangas, University of Oulu, Finland

Philipp M. Scholl, University of Freiburg, Germany

Hristijan Gjoreski, Ss. Cyril and Methodius University, Macedonia

Katsuhiko Kaji, Aichi Institute of Technology, Japan

Tsuyoshi Okita, Kyushu Institute of Technology / Riken, Japan

Paula Lago, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan

Kaori Fujinami, Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology, Japan

Stephan Sigg, Aalto University, Finland

Hiroki Watanabe, Hokkaido University, Japan

Pascal Hirmer, University of Stuttgart, Germany

Shigeyuki Miyagi, The University of Shiga Prefecture, Japan

Yu Enokibori, Nagoya University, Japan

Anja Exler, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Kristina Yordanova, University of Rostock, Germany

Trung Thanh NGO, Osaka University, Japan

Ricky J Sethi, Fitchburg State University, USA

Meng Joo, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Ikuhisa Mitsugami, Hiroshima City University, Japan

Mohiuddin Ahmad Khulna, University of Engineering & Technology, Bangladesh

Upal Mahbub, University of Meryland, College Park, USA

Atsushi Shimada, Kyushu University, Japan